Disclosure: Some of the links on this page may contain affiliate links. Learn more.
On Snapchat, you’ve been friends with someone, but after some time passes, you notice they aren’t checking out your stories.
The situation may be reversed, in which case you would no longer see theirs. You could start to wonder if the person has deleted their Snapchat account as a result.
If this or a similar situation has occurred to you, use our guide to determine whether the person has banned you, deleted your Snapchat, or just removed you from their account.
Search Their Username
Searching for someone on the app is the simplest way to find out whether they have deleted their Snapchat account. Just enter their username in the “explore bar” at the top.
Try using their real name, or at the very least, something similar to their username, if you can’t remember it. The results page will display names that match what you typed, so you may find your friend among them.
Two scenarios may happen:
1. You’ll find their profile:
If their profile appears, it indicates that they haven’t deleted Snapchat. The chances seem to be that they either stopped using Snapchat altogether or removed you from their list of friends.
Click on their account to view their Snapchat score to determine whether this is the case. It’s a number that represents how many snaps they have already uploaded.
It is located at the bottom right of their profile picture, close to their username. You’re still two-way friends if you can see the number.
The person may have removed you from their friend’s list or may not have added you at all if it is not visible to you. When this occurs, the username appears in the middle, as opposed to the left.
2. You won’t find their profile:
They may have blocked you or deleted their account if it appears they have vanished from the app. You’ll need to keep searching for their name on another account to see which is the case.
The most straightforward option is to ask a friend to look up the username. You may even create a new Snapchat account and handle it yourself if you want to keep the “pursuit” a secret.
If you already have a second account that person doesn’t know of, things will be easier. If you are still unable to find the person’s Snapchat profile, they have probably deleted it.
If you don’t know the person in real life, you’re unlikely to know their genuine name. Some people don’t add their real identity on the platform, so searching by their true name may not work, either.
Here are other tricks to see if someone deleted Snapchat or doesn’t want you among their friends.
How to Check If Someone Doesn’t Want You on Snapchat?
When a friend unfollows or blocks you on Snapchat, you won’t receive a notification. Social media sites have a universal policy to protect their users from being insulted or emotionally wounded. With Snapchat, things are a little more complicated.
If you believe someone has unfriended you on Facebook or Instagram, you can easily see if they are still listed there by looking at your “friend list” or “following” section.
The person’s name can still remain in your “Friends” section even if they unfriend you on Snapchat. Depending on their privacy settings, you could even be able to send them snaps.
Signs that Show Someone Has Unfriended You on Snapchat
The Subscriptions Section
You can view the stories of non-friend Snapchatters, your favourite publishers, and other channels you have subscribed to in the subscriptions tab.
You’re no longer on their friend list if you unintentionally come into an old friend’s story there.
This is the reason why their post showed up as a public user.
1. The Gray Arrow
Another technique to determine why someone is missing from your Snapchat is to message the person you believe to have unfriended you. Click the speech balloon symbol in the lower-left corner of your home page.
To snap a snap photo, double-click on your friend’s profile and choose the circle tab. Send it to the person after which you may view the message’s status. A red arrow with the word “delivered” will show up next to the user’s name once the message is delivered.
However, if it turns grey, the message will become pending, and you must wait for the user to approve your request. This is a clear sign that they removed you. Otherwise, the snap would have made its way to your friend without the need for confirmation.
2. Location Share Option
You will have few options for interaction when someone deletes you on Snapchat. One of them is location sharing. You won’t be able to ask them for their location or share your location with them anymore.
3. The Blue Tick Mark
You may assume that a person is still following you if there is a blue checkmark above their name. Don’t be fooled by it. The sign only indicates that they’re on your friend list, not the other way around.
Does Deleting Mean Blocking on Snapchat?
On Snapchat, deleting someone is different from blocking them because when someone blocks you, their profile fully disappears from your account. It indicates that you are unable to send them snaps or check the grey arrow.
Moreover, you cannot “add” the person to your friend list again. Search for the person’s name on another account to verify whether they’re gone or just invisible to you in order to confirm that they have blocked you.
Why Would Someone Delete Me on Snapchat?
When someone unfollows you on Snapchat, it might be tempting to take it personally, but sometimes it’s not. Maybe they decide to delete you because they believe you have conflicting interests or a different lifestyle.
Other times, your friend may believe you have stopped using the platform since you aren’t regularly posting content there. The opposite may also be true. We’ve heard tales of people removing someone from their Snapchat list because they were receiving too many posts from them. It may even be a mistake.
Have you ever accidentally touched an icon with your finger and messed up a device programme? Asking the individual why they removed you is the best action to take if you genuinely care about them.
On Snapchat, there are other ways to lose someone as a friend.
1. The Person Has Deactivated Their Account
Your Snapchat won’t immediately vanish from the public when you delete it. You may still have access to your username if it’s still around. Your friends and followers will have you on their list at this time, but they won’t know how to get in touch with you.
The account doesn’t totally vanish for around 30 days. If a person’s name appears on your Snapchat but all channels of communication appear to be closed, it’s also possible that they have deactivated their account and are currently subject to a 30-day suspension.
2. The Person Has Uninstalled the App
Instead of deleting their account, someone might delete the Snapchat program, leaving their profile visible on your friend list but with no activity. They could have unfriended you, or you might think that.
Check a user’s Snap score often to see whether Snapchat has been uninstalled from their phone. The likelihood is that your friend has uninstalled the app from their smartphone if the score hasn’t changed for a while (let’s say a week).
Wrapping Up: How To Know If Someone Deleted Snapchat?
Since Snapchat doesn’t notify users when you delete a friend, they cannot immediately know whether you have done so.
However, after a while, they can become emotionally invested in you after noticing your absence. If you’ve unfriended someone, there are several signs on your profile.